New Book about Computational Aesthetics: FORM+CODE

Form+Code in Design, Art, and ArchitectureFORM+CODE is a new book about computational aesthetics to be published fall 2010. It is written by Casey Reas, Chandler McWilliams and LUST and the list of featured artists reads like the who-is-who of the generative design community.

With works ranging from Maeda to Sagmeister the publication seems to span from data driven visualizations to generative approaches in design, art and architecture. I am very happy to see some Swiss collegues listed like Jürg Lehni and the fine folks from ETH Zürich.

The publication will definitely be more source of inspiration than visualization best practices but I am looking forward to have such a wide rang of designers distilled in this book. Finally, I am sorry for igniting your excitement so early as we have to wait for another four months but I am sure it will be worth it.

Here’s the full listing of featured creators:

Aaron Koblin, Aaron Siegel, Alex Dragulescu, Alexander Calder, Andy Lomas, Aranda/Lasch (Benjamin Aranda, Chris Lasch, Clay Coffey), ART+COM, Arup, Atari, Ben F. Laposky, Ben Fry, Ben Shneiderman, Bill Cheswick, Bridget Riley, Catalogtree, Charles A. Csuri, Cornelia Sollfrank, Cory Arcangel, David Dessens, David Em, David Small, Daniel Sauter, Douglas Hofstadter, Edward Zajac, Elena Manferdini, Emil Ruder, Emily Gobeille and Theodore Watson, Enrico Bravi, Erik Natzke, Erwin Driessens and Maria Verstappen, Frieder Nake, George Legrady, Gerhard Mantz, Golan Levin, Gramazio & Kohler, Architecture and Digital Fabrication, ETH Zurich, Granular-Synthesis, Greg Lynn FORM, Hal Burch, Harold Cohen, Ivan Sutherland, James Paterson, Jason Salavon, Jasper Johns, Jean-Pierre Hébert, Jennifer Steinkamp, Jim Campbell, John F. Simon, Jr., John Maeda, Jon McCormack, Jonathan Harris, Jonathan McCabe, John Rehling, Julius Popp, Jürg Lehni, Jussi Ängeslevä, Kai Wetzel, Karl Sims, Karsten Schmidt (PostSpectacular), Keith Tyson, Ken Knowlton, Kenneth A. Huff, Khoi Vinh, Kokkugia, Larry Cuba, Laura Wattenberg, LeCielEstBleu, Leon Harmon, LettError, Lia, Lillian Schwartz, Lisa Strausfeld, Manfred Mohr, Marcos Weskamp, Marius Watz, Mark Wilson, Martin Wattenberg, Masaki Fujihata, Michael Najjar, Mike Silver, Mikkel Crone Koser, MIT Media Lab Personal Robotics Group, Xitome Design, Moh Architects, Morphosis, MOS Architects, NASA, Nervous System, Osman Khan, Pablo Valbuena, Paolo Palma, Peter Cho, Peter Pearce, Philip Beesley, R&Sie(n)+D, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, Richard Dawkins, Robert Hodgin and Nando Costa, Robert Lazzarini, Ross Cooper, Roxy Paine, Ryoji Ikeda, Schoenerwissen/OfCD, SHoP, Skidmore Owings & Merrill (SOM), Sol LeWitt, Sosolimited (Eric Gunther, Justin Manor, and John Rothenberg), Stamen Design (with Scott Snibbe, Amy Balkin, Gabriel Dunne and Ryan Alexander), Stefan Sagmeister and Ralph Ammer, Steven Wolfram, Tale of Tales, Telcosystems, Testa & Weiser Architects, The Barbarian Group, The OpenEnded Group, Theo Jansen, THEVERYMANY (Marc Fornes and Skylar Tibbits), ThinkMap, Tom Betts, Tom Carden, Tom Friedman, Toyo Ito & Associates Architects, United Visual Artists, Vasa Mihich, Vera Molnar, Yoko Ono, Yoshi Sodeoka, Yunsil Heo and Hyunwoo Bang, Zaha Hadid Architects, Zuzana Licko

Share this article

Subscribe for more

Give Feedback